• Installing syncTERM on linux Mint 21.1 cinnamon

From John Cybulski@1:275/89 to All on Fri Jun 9 19:15:15 2023
    Hey All,

Just installed Linux Mint 21.1 Cinnamon on my Acer laptop alongside Windows 10 so its dual boot.

It seem to be working just fine and so far I like it.

Trying to install syncTERM on it but not have much luck. I'll point out i'm a total Linux noob :)

I managed to install Snap store and it works. I used it to install Mailspring and that went ok.

When I install syncTerm, I install it but its nowhere to be found. I go back to Snap store and it says its installed but I can't find it. Also when i type it in the search of the start menu, it doesn't show up.

Anyone experience this before? I'm guessing its something simple and i've also searched on google but all I find is issues with installing Snap store itself.

Any help or guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks
    --- SBBSecho 3.20-Win32
    * Origin: Diamond Mine Online BBS - bbs.dmine.net:24 (1:275/89)
  • From Juan Diaz@1:124/5016 to John Cybulski on Tue Jun 13 11:18:57 2023
    Re: Installing syncTERM on linux Mint 21.1 cinnamon
    By: John Cybulski to All on Fri Jun 09 2023 19:15:15

Hey All,
    hey there, just try typing "syncterm" in a terminal windows ?!
    May be?!

Best regards, Lord Woodoo
    --- SBBSecho 3.20-Linux
    * Origin: End Of The Line BBS - endofthelinebbs.com (1:124/5016)
  • From Rob Swindell@1:103/705 to John Cybulski on Tue Jun 13 09:48:25 2023
    Re: Installing syncTERM on linux Mint 21.1 cinnamon
    By: John Cybulski to All on Fri Jun 09 2023 07:15 pm

I managed to install Snap store and it works. I used it to install Mailspring and that went ok.

When I install syncTerm, I install it but its nowhere to be found. I go back to Snap store and it says its installed but I can't find it.

First thing: don't use the Snap store to install SyncTERM. That SyncTERM is not official/authorized/supported and I think it's still a really old version of SyncTERM.